Posted in NaNoWriMo, Writer Lifestyle

Unleashing Your Creativity & Productivity for NaNoWriMo

A couple weeks ago, one of my friends helped me create some candles. I felt a little bad about making her house smell so perfume-y but the candles did turn out wonderful.

It was during the drive home when suddenly occurred to me that while these candles smell divine, I chose them because of their pleasant aroma and not for other (more productive) reasons – mainly other aromatherapy perks. I’ve heard of certain smells helping to calm you down but do smells also help you become more…productive and creative?

*vigorously internets*

*yes, I just turned that noun into a verb*

*internets some more*

In a study led by Kristin McCombs of Wheeling Jesuit University, peppermint was found to help students perform better. While a study led by Stephanie Lichtenfeld of the University of Munich in Germany found that the color green helps release your creativity.

Apartment Therapy wrote up a great article about scents that help improve your productivity level. The article suggests Cinnamon (for alertness and focus), Mint (for boosting attentiveness), Lemon: (“which jolts the mind into action when detected”), Orange (similar to lemon), and Rosemary (which helps you become quicker and smarter).

I’m excited to try out some of these scents while I’m writing (for work and for NaNo).

Here’s a tip (that has worked for me in the past – though I haven’t researched anything about it yet). Since I’m so used to working productively in cafes and at the WFPS meetings, even just the scent of coffee helps to increase my creativity and productivity level.

What scents work best for you? Or do you prefer to work in a room with no smells to distract you? How about color or sound? Do you write with music playing?

We’d love to hear from you! Jot down your ideas, thoughts, and questions in the comment section below.

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

