Posted in WFPS News, Writing

Willamette Writer’s Conference 2014 (and other notes including a Doctor Who reference)

the-tardis-263153_640

Hello everyone!

I know that it’s been a while since my last post. Today, I’d like to share some of the updates for the group (as well as in my writing career), and some writing tips. Ready? Allons-y!

 

UPDATES

Next month will be the 1-year mark since I started writing as a profession. It pays my bills, makes me happy, and I get to play with words all day. I feel so grateful to have found my editor (Nick), and to have the encouragement from my family and friends. The steady work (from Nick) has allowed me to venture out and find other freelance jobs (lesson plans for Education.com, blogging for Mrs. Bronner’s health & wellness site and her coaching site, various copy-writing gigs, story design for mobile games, etc.) without having to worry about paying my bills.

I’m hoping to jump-start a fiction career this year as well. Some of the members of WFPS have signed up for the Willamette Writer’s Conference this year (in August). We’ll be pitching our novels to editors and agents as well as attending writing workshops. I’m so excited and a bit scared as well. I’ve never sent out any of my novel length works before so this is new territory for me.

Now, to finish my work day and work on my novel…

 

WRITING TIPS

On the subject of awkward presentations…

If you attended the meeting at the first of this month, you probably got to hear me stumble over my words as I did a presentation on “Conflict and Suspense” in fiction. I still have the PowerPoint presentation that I did along with it. If you would like a copy of it (for free of course), send a request to writersfps@gmail.com. I’ll happily send you a copy of it.

On the subject of #omgIsittoomuch…

I love my career but it’s really not all that great on my figure. I’ve gained a few pounds since I started this a year ago. After all, I do sit in a chair for most of the day. Because of that, I’ve made a make-shift standing desk. And by that, I mean, I set my laptop on a box on my “desk” so now I can type while I’m standing up. It’s done wonders for me, actually. I know that it’s super ghetto though. I plan on actually building my own desk, or IKEA-ing (yes, I just turned that proper noun into a verb) it when Jake and I move into our new place in March. Until then, ghetto box it is.

“There’s quite a bit of running…”

Just as a side note (this has nothing to do with writing, by the way so feel free to skip this section), why is it that no one warned me of all the tears that would be shed since I’ve started watching Doctor Who? I’m all, “Hey! Time traveling madman in a box. There’s lots of aliens, right? This sounds like a fun show! OMGALLTHETEARS.”

So I’m in the middle of season for (the tenth doctor). More tears will be shed, huh? I should buy stock in Kleenex.

Jake and I have scheduled our free-time at night. With all of our different interests (in TV, movies, games, etc.) it was hard to find time for it all. Doctor Who has a solid spot Wednesday nights (on Netflix of course). Tonight? House of Cards (we’re in the middle of season two). After TV we snuggle up with good books. We’ve been filling up on various stories (genres and formats — TV and literature) which has been great for my weird fiction slump. It’s got me excited about writing again.

All right, it’s back to work for me. I’ve got another hour and a half until my laptop screams at me and tells me to work on my novel. I hope that you’re all doing great!

OH! Also, just as a heads up. I’m looking to reformat the appearance of this blog sometime this week (just to freshen it up). So don’t be surprised if you come to visit and find that it looks different. Go ahead…make a “regeneration” reference… I dare you.

Write on!

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

