Posted in NaNoWriMo, WFPS News

Camp NaNoWriMo: No Rest for the Weary

NaNo Typewriter

Happy Spring/Allergy Season everyone!

As you are reading this, my eyes are puffy and I may have already sneezed my lungs out of my nose. But that’s not why I’m posting today.

Single digits until the April edition of Camp NaNoWriMo! <– that’s why I’m posting today.

I am both excited and frightened at the prospect of NaNo coming so soon. I’ve been completely immersed in work and have been less than able to plan like I normally do. However, I am still aiming for 50k in April. This year, I’m going for a fantasy horror story: fallen angels, mysterious letters and maps, ancient books, mapmakers and cults, giants, a gaggle of witches, and I may quite possibly throw in some “faith versus science versus magic” in there as well. This will be new territory for me. If I may, think Princess Bride meets Supernatural with a dash of The Odyssey.

Upcoming Themed Write-Ins:

Since today is a meeting day, I’m hoping that the group and I can schedule some great write-in themes for next month. Some ideas that the VP and I have been working on are:

  • Pajama Write-In (It was just so much fun last time.)
  • Camp Barbecue (VP offered to be “GrillMaster” — I’m thinking of making him a badge.)
  • “Fishing Derby” (details include two “ponds” where you can fish out word prompts and challenges for your story and we’ll throw in a raffle for this day as well)

I’m going to pitch those this afternoon. I’ll update the Events page with the write-in themes that the group agrees on. Of course, each of those days will have some kind of food theme, word sprints, and word count challenges.

Checking In:

Are you participating with this April event? How is everyone doing with their planning?

My name is joywa03 (that’s j-o-y-w-a-zerothree) on the Camp NaNo Website if you would like to add me as a writing buddy. I love to chat with fellow NaNo competitors. If you message me your name, I will also try to add you to my cabin (though I only have one slot open since they only allow for you to request five people for your cabin). I do love the fact that they limit the number of requests so that we can meet new people during camp (the cabins will have eleven “occupants” this time around).

I have been writing up flash fiction pieces with my characters as a character development and planning activity. It’s pretty fun. You get to know your characters in the process. You get to see them react to different scenarios so you can develop them a bit more before you write your actual novel.

Ninja Members:

ninja memberHello Ninja Members! How are you doing? I haven’t heard from some of you in a while so I just wanted to check in. If you have any questions, please send us an e-mail or comment on any of the posts.

Contact us!

If you have any questions about the writing or planning process, NaNo tips to offer us (or want some NaNo tips), please feel free to shoot us an e-mail at writersfps@gmail.com. I love to hear from everyone and meet new people. We’ve met quite a few great writers this way!

kiss

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

