Posted in Writing

Writer’s Habits: Staying Healthy

sneakers-77091_640

Hello everyone!

I know that it’s been a while since my last post. I could give you all of the excuses in the book but I’m sure that you don’t want to hear it. 🙂 So let’s just get down to business…

Today I want to talk about health and writing. Before yesterday, I was adamant that my work wouldn’t get too affected by a cold or flu. After all, I don’t have to worry about going out and infecting others. I can even work from bed. Just as long as my head isn’t throbbing, I can concentrate on work. In fact, since I don’t often go out and interact with a lot of people everyday, I don’t have to worry too much about getting sick at all.

Of course, that’s the catch. Whenever I get sick, a horrible headache comes with it. For the past 24 hours, I’ve been bedridden. Fever through the roof, body aches, lethargic, throbbing headache, etc. The thought of staring at a computer screen made me want to puke. The thought of food made me want to puke.

So don’t make my mistake. Take precautions in case you get sick. Be days ahead of your deadlines, if that’s possible. My clients have been extremely thoughtful and considerate and I am appreciative for that. Luckily, I often run days ahead of my deadlines so I didn’t really have to worry so much. However, that doesn’t excuse lapse in taking care of myself. Unless we go through a private company, most writers don’t get health insurance (actually, let’s not even get into that barrel of monkeys…).

I’ve said it plenty of times before, our jobs are sedentary. We sit in front of a computer all day. Because of that, we need to take an extra step when it comes to taking care of ourselves.

Have healthy snacks handy instead of a bag of chips or a sleeve of Girl Scout cookies: carrot sticks and hummus, a serving of whole wheat crackers and cheese, a serving of mixed nuts, or some natural popcorn, etc. If you’re a complete hermit (or if you just need a little variety and a push), I suggest investing in a Graze Box. Each box comes with four snacks; each is prepackaged and a single serving). Don’t be disappointed though. They may look small but they are packed with enough flavor to satisfy your hunger. (If you need an invite code, I’m shamelessly plugging mine. I have four to give away, just comment on this, e-mail the group, or send me a FB message.)

Drink water. It’s the fountain of youth. Not only that but it also re-hydrates you after all of that coffee that we drink everyday. I’ve never been one for drinking water. I always preferred soda while I was growing up. But as I’ve gotten older, my penchant for drinking soda has dwindled. I am more likely to order water when we eat out. I’ve invested in an awesome water bottle that I refill every hour (in addition to my coffee cup…..which I also refill often).

Get up every hour and walk around. I’m serious. Get up and refill your water bottle. Walk around your house and look for serial killers under all of the beds. Walk around the block. It’s good for your mind as well as your body.

Get some fresh air. Outside. Yup. You can go out there. You won’t turn into a zombie. You won’t catch a death plague. You don’t even have to interact with people, if you just take a walk around the block. Of course, I encourage interaction. That’s how you get really good at dialogue and character development after all. Otherwise, all of your characters will just act and sound like you.

These are just a few tips on how to stay healthy. What are yours?

 

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

