Posted in Writing Inspiration

Writing Tips: Turning Obstacles into Motivation

anger-18615_640

I just turned in an article for work. In it I quote a plethora of businesswomen (and men) on their tips and tricks for new entrepreneurs. It was inspiring…for a number of different reasons. Let me explain…

Often (since I work at home), I need a change of scenery. I find that I work best when I pick up my mobile office and go to a local coffee shop for work. Sure it can get kind of noisy but for the most part, I use it to fuel my fiction. After all, writing is such a solitary career. In order to write about people, I should be around people. Unfortunately for me, there are plethora of different people that go to this particular coffee shop.

“But, Joy, how could that be bad??? You need diversity in your characters!”

Yes, this is true. However, some people don’t know what common decency is. They pound on the tables, they yell (and scream obscenities), they speak poorly of people that they work with, etc. All amidst people who are studying (yes, there is a study group here as well), and people who are studiously typing away at their computers.

This is one of the challenges of writing in public. I am fully aware of that (according to this particular pair of gal pals: “That is no reason that I can’t  b**** about it.”). Do you ever have to deal with these kinds of distractions?

Well, my solution (as put forth by our awesome secretary of WFPS) is to let this fuel my fiction. These women are wonderful characters to add to my fiction projects. They are dynamic and boisterous. They are regular people. They would make fantastic victims in my next horror story.

While we are writing — while we’re trying to keep our blinders on — life is happening all around us and that is great inspiration that we are missing.

So the next time you are stuck, stick your head out of your cubicle. Experience life. Go live the action that you can’t describe (except for the illegal stuff, of course). Go sit amongst people. Move your mobile workspace to a crowded cafe and take notes on those around you.

Even if you feel as though something is an obstacle, use it to fuel your motivation and your fiction. Screaming kids? Take notes. Obnoxious gal pals? Take notes. Barking dog? Take notes.

Use them.

Or do something else… As Chaucer said in A Knight’s Tale:

“I will eviscerate you in fiction. Every pimple, every character flaw. I was naked for a day; you will be naked for eternity.”

Happy Writing!

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

