Posted in Writing, Writing Inspiration

Writing Goals 2014: Update

watch-164873_640

While I sometimes act as the voice for WFPS, I can’t speak for them as far as “how Operation Write-All-The-Awesome-Things 2014 is going.” I can tell you how I am doing, however.

My writing goals for this year are as follows:

  1. Write all the things (2k minimum of fiction and nonfiction combined). I like to give myself kudos when I write 2k of fiction in addition to 2k of nonfiction a day.
  2. Have something tangible and somewhat ready to show to actual people by the conference in August. There have been talks (within the group) of going to the Willamette Writer’s Conference in August. I’ve never been before but the members that have gone say that it is fantastic and that they gained a lot of knowledge about the industry that weekend.
  3. Make more money as a writer. But that’s every writer’s dream, isn’t it? Be well paid for what we love to do.

I can say that my lackluster effort in writing more fiction in 2014 is pitiful. I admit that I’ve been spending a lot of time on work (which is where most of my word count has gone to this month).

I altered a spreadsheet to keep track of my word count goals and I seem to be failing quite successfully…which is bad, (of course) but I really wanted to use the word successfully at least once in this post.

Okay, so I’m exaggerating a bit. I am making a minimum of 2k a day but most of it is non-fiction (AKA work). I love work and I don’t want my work load to dwindle at all. However, I do need to up my fiction game.

2k of fiction a day. That is what Stephen King does and that is what my goal will be. I need to be able to punch out the quantity so that I can practice writing quality work.

How are your 2014 writing goals? Do you have any? Please, share them with us! Share your progress also!

Speaking of sharing, I sent out the February 2014 Newsletter a couple weekends ago. If you didn’t get one, please feel free to shoot me an e-mail at writersfps@gmail.com and I’ll get one to you ASAP.

Happy writing everyone!

Love, Joy

 

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

