Posted in WFPS News, Writing

WFPS Newsletter, Schedules, Coffee Shops, & My Love For The Oxford Comma (& Lists)

Hey everyone!

ninja member

I just sent the WFPS newsletter out to the Ninja Members. If you are a Ninja Member and didn’t receive it, let me know (comment here, Facebook message me, or send me an e-mail at writersfps@gmail.com). If you want to be a Ninja Member send me an e-mail (writersfps@gmail.com) and I’ll add you to the list.

ALSO…

red-37308_150

I want to invite you all to participate in Chuck Wendig’s latest Flash Fiction Contest because it sounds incredibly fun. You can find it here. Check it out. Read the rest of his very informative and slightly offensive blog. It’s loads of fun. Buckets of fun even. Barrels of fun…and fish…and a touch of another four letter f-word.

ALSO…

coffee

I’m at a coffee shop, procrastinating (actually I was finishing up the newsletter so I was actually being productive). However, I should be writing some fiction.

ALSO…

note-147603_640

I wanted to share with you, my love for lists. I used them in my writing. Well, that’s not necessarily true. I use them in my pre-writing activities.

What do I want my reader to feel?

  1. scared
  2. frightened
  3. a bitter hatred toward me when her favorite character dies (don’t worry, they don’t normally die in vain)
  4. slightly disillusioned with the modern society as a whole
  5. maybe a little nauseous at my incredible genius

Mind you, it took me a good fifteen minutes to spell nauseous right so I’m not really a genius.

Lists are handy when it comes to things like that. If you’re having trouble writing, (not concentrating — like myself — but actually getting coherent or incoherent words down on paper) I suggest that you create a list of what you want your reader to get out of your story. Don’t focus on who your reader is (it could be just you, it could be your dog, it could be your sleeping child, or it could be Stephen King), just focus on what you want to convey.

I suppose that I should stop procrastinating and get some fiction done. For the OPERATION WRITE ALL THE AWESOME THINGS (2014 Edition), I’m focusing on writing at least 2000 words per day. They don’t have to be good words. I’m trying for quantity so that I can develop that writing habit.

2000 words isn’t going to write itself.

Happy writing everyone!

Love, Joy

P.S.

Oxford commas are fantastic.

oxford-comma-cartoon
This isn’t my cartoon. I got it from here: http://thefutureislikepie.com/if-you-use-one-piece-of-punctuation-in-2013-let-it-be-the-oxford-comma/oxford-comma-cartoon/

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

