Posted in Writing, Writing Resources

Word Workshop Wednesday …Err, Thursday

birds-2115_640

I’m sorry about the radio silence yesterday. I would post why I didn’t get around to posting a Word Workshop but I’m sure you don’t want to hear about my excuses (*cough* work *cough*). So, instead, I’ll post something today. 🙂

Today, I want to get those silly homophones (words that sound the same but have different meanings) out of the way. This is why American English will make an ESL student want to raise his or her hands up in frustration. Okay, here goes:

Affect (to exert influence on something) and Effect (verb: to accomplish/noun: the result of something happening)

Its (possessive) and It’s (contraction)

Loose (free or not attached well enough) and Lose (to fail, or to be depraved of)

Principal (important or the head of a school) and Principle (a general truth)

Who’s (contraction: who is) and Whose (possessive form of who)

Their (possessive), They’re (they are), and There (a place or position)

Your (possessive) or You’re (contraction)

These are the basic homonyms. If there is one that you’re having a big problem with, then either send us an e-mail about it (at writersfps@gmail.com) or leave a comment below.

All righty, it’s back to the word mines for me. I hope that you’re having a fantastic and productive 2014!

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

