Posted in NaNoWriMo, WFPS News, Writing Inspiration

Post NaNo Hangover

notepad

Hello everyone!

How was your 2013 NaNo experience? The wrimos at WFPS all worked hard during the Write-A-Thon and (I’m happy to say that) all of the wrimos that attended won this year!

I can’t stress enough that I couldn’t have done it without the support of the other WFPS members. While my story may not be finished, I’m ecstatic that I got this far in it.

I’ve been going through a post NaNo hangover. Since the 30th, I haven’t written a word of fiction. *sigh* But that’s about to change…after a little while. Right now I’m working on how to hone my craft in ways other than actually putting words down to paper.

I’ve been downloading some great podcasts to listen to during my work breaks: GrammerGirl, The Narrative Breakdown, Start Writing Fiction, etc. Most of it is refresher material but I am learning a few things. It’s also nice to be able to listen to advice like this in my spare time.

At WFPS, we are also working on honing our craft in ways other than just putting pen to paper. We’re scheduling writing workshops for the last Saturday of each month. As of right now, the topic schedule looks like this:

January: Brainstorming and Story Mapping 101
February: Finding your voice/Viewpoint
March: Writing Romance
April: Character development/Dialogue
May: Query letters
June: Conflict and Suspense
July: Description and Setting
August: Grammar and Mechanics
September: Outlining and Pacing
October: Plot and Structure
November: Procrastination/Time Management
December: Revision and Self-Editing

I also wanted to post my Writing Resolutions for 2014 OPERATION WRITE ALL THE AWESOME THINGS. These are only a part of my Writing Bucket List:

  1. Write a spoken word poem.
  2. Write and edit a novel length piece of fiction.
  3. Write at least 12 short stories.
  4. Read more than I watch Netflix.
  5. Keep up with the post schedule for this blog.

All righty! Back to work 🙂

I hope that you’re all doing great!

Love,

Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

