Posted in WFPS News, Writing

Ghosts, Website Schedule Updates, Afternoon Tea Time, and Buckets

pen

Hello fellow writers!

It’s been a long time since I’ve updated the blog with news that didn’t have to do with NaNoWriMo. I figured that I would take the time to do that now.

First I wanted to talk about 2014 and what it has to offer us. I am looking forward to this next year. I’m dedicating 2014 to professional advancement. I’m already getting a lot of experience from the work that I have done with the online women’s magazine, life coaching, and and health and wellness magazine. To top it off, I’ve got myself a ghostwriting project.

A few years ago, I would have scoffed at a ghostwriting project. Why write if I can’t get a byline??? I realize the benefits of ghostwriting now. I mean, besides the paycheck, which is pretty nice too. Since I’ve signed a non-disclosure agreement, I can’t tell you about the project but I can tell you that I’ve already learned a lot from it:

  • the importance of outlining
  • the difference of writing non-fiction and fiction
  • how to balance my time working on different projects
  • how to format an eBook

I can put all of these different lessons to good use when I am ready to publish my own novel-length work of fiction.

Speaking of “balancing my time”… I also want to apologize for not committing as much time on the blog as I did last month. [INSERT EXCUSES HERE] My excuses aren’t important.

Let me tell you what I’m going to do to resolve it though. I’m going to have a brand new spanking post schedule for the upcoming year, which I have dubbed “2014 OPERATION WRITE ALL THE AWESOME THINGS“:

Here’s what I’ve got in mind so far:

  • MONDAY: “Monday Morning Muse” (okay, so that won’t be different from the last schedule) -prompts, challenges, or WFPS contests will be posted on Mondays.
  • TUESDAY: N/A
  • WEDNESDAY: “Wednesday Word Workshop” – I’ll answer writing questions or write about writing as a craft.
  • THURSDAY: N/A
  • FRIDAY: “Genre Fiction Friday” – I’ll answer questions or write about a genre-specific topic
  • SATURDAY: N/A
  • SUNDAY: “Sunday Super-Market Day” (okay, I’ll come up with a better name) – I’ll highlight a online and/or print magazine that is taking submissions or holding a contest

As you can see, I don’t have ideas for every day of the week yet. While I’d like to keep Saturdays open (because that is when the group meets), I am totally open to suggestions. What would you like to see here? I’m thinking that I could leave those days open for guest bloggers? What do you think?

My entire day isn’t spent writing though. Sometimes I feel like it should be and other times I feel as though it…really is filled with words. But I do spend time watching Netflix (or anime) with Jake. We just finished K-ON. I loved it so much and it wasn’t just because the characters are cute. The group reminded me of our writing group. We love to write and we work well together. Though at times it seems as though we don’t write as often as we should… πŸ˜‰

K-ON

OKAY! Last thing before I dive back into work… I wanted to issue another challenge. Actually, it is a reiteration of a challenge that I gave you earlier this year. I want to encourage you to create a “writing bucket list” for this next year: 2014 OPERATION WRITE ALL THE AWESOME THINGS.

I’ll even take it to the next step and post my own 2014 writing bucket list within the next few days.

All righty, back to the word mines! *whip cracks in the background*

whip

red-37308_150Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

3 thoughts on “Ghosts, Website Schedule Updates, Afternoon Tea Time, and Buckets

Leave a Reply

