Posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing

NaNo Update: Day 13

word mines

 

I’ve finally reemerged from the word mines. It’s bright out here. I’m not sure how I like it.

Today I wanted to talk to you guys about the importance of daylight. It’s bright and obnoxious but necessary for our sanity. I’ve spent most of November sitting in my hole of an “office.” Lately the only human interaction that I’ve really gotten are the write-ins on Saturdays.

I’ve realized just how depressed I’ve gotten during the week while I’m stuck in my hole. I suppose that’s one of the reasons why I’m at a local coffee shop right now — so that I can be around other people, even if they’re not writing.

Today is a spontaneous fiction writing day for me. I don’t get my e-book instructions from my editor until tomorrow so I get to work on my novel all day. This is pretty fortunate considering that I’ve fallen behind in my word count. After writing all day for work, I found that I didn’t really have enough energy to focus on fiction at night and so my word count has suffered.

Today will be catch-up day if I can focus.

How are you guys juggling your work/writing time? Well, I hope.

I have to say, it is a bit uplifting to be around other people. For a writer (which is a particularly “lone wolf” -esque profession), I like to be social.

Write-ins are particularly fun. My favorite types are the write-ins where we sprint, then take a break to share some things (perhaps a favorite phrase, word, dialogue, or character) , then write some more. I find the creative energy in those types of writing sessions invigorating. If you haven’t been to one like that, I encourage you to try at least one. It really is inspiring.

Well, time to dive into a bit of fiction.

Wishing you all the best! Write on, fellow wrimos!

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

