Posted in Writing

Are You Getting Excited? Event Planning, Snacks, & Funny Tasting Water

typewriter

It’s less than a week until the midnight kick off of NaNoWriMo. Are you getting excited? With my looming deadline for work (I’ve got a big project due on November 1st) and NaNo planning (those plot bunnies are pretty distracting, aren’t they), cross-stitch has become an effective form of stress-relief. Well, that and posting for you lovely writers.

*wink*

”How you doin’?”

This entire week, I’m going to be posting a ton of planning-oriented and “writer habit” themed posts. For those who aren’t going to be participating in NaNo this year, don’t fret. Most of what I have to talk/writer about is just general writery stuff. Except since it has to do with NaNo, there will be more “freaking out” and I’ll be a tad more excitable.

CAN YOU BELIEVE WE ONLY HAVE FOUR MORE DAYS UNTIL NOVEMBER FIRST???

I’m starting to collect my annual NaNo writer gear. I’ve got healthy snacks for write-ins, a bag of sunflower seeds in the pantry, my grumpy face coffee cup, and my silver thermos that keeps my water nice and cold.

I’m going for a healthier NaNo season this year. I’ll be limiting my coffee intake (we’ll see how long that lasts), increasing my water intake (I’ve been really dehydrated lately), sticking with healthier snacks (like sunflower seeds, trail mix, and some beet chips – if I can perfect my recipe), and trying to reward myself with non-food treats (like books and puppies).

I’m even going to switch it up from all-coffee-no-tea, to some-tea-some-coffee. The trouble is that I’ve never been a big tea drinker. So I’m not sure what kind of tea I really like. Last summer, I got into English Breakfast Tea (no milk, with Splenda) but I like to mix it up sometimes.

What’s your favorite kind of tea?

What NaNo snacks do you normally partake in?

FOUR DAYS???

What do you reward yourself with when you reach your word goals?

Despite my good intentions, I do plan on bringing some sweet pastries to all of the write-ins this November. One of our members, Katy, makes fantastic biscotti. I hope she brings some more.

This Saturday — the first official write-in in November this year — is going to be our NaNo Pajamo Write-In. We’re going to be writing in the carpeted room next to where we normally meet up (don’t worry, we’ll have some signs posted), from 1PM to Midnight (or until everyone decides to go home because they can’t see straight anymore).

I’m bringing my sushi pillow to lean on. I’m going to be wearing some comfy pants and a sweatshirt. We’re going to be nomming on some fantastic spaghetti. We’re going to be Pomodoro-ing our keyboards off!

OMG, MY MIND JUST WENT BLANK.

Needless to say, we’ll be having a lot of fun at the write-in and I hope to see you there. If you can’t make it in person, I’ll have Skype up and running. If you haven’t yet, make sure to look up our Skype name (“writersfps“) and add us to your contact list. Then we can all do virtual word sprints/wars. Of course, I don’t know if the WiFi will reach the carpeted portable… I’ll get back to you on that.

Good luck with your planning everyone! If you have any NaNo questions or concerns:

What is this NaNo that you speak of?

Pajama Write-In? What if you don’t wear pajamas to bed?

WHAT DO YOU MEAN FOUR DAYS?

I don’t’ have a plot…

Make sure to post them in the comments section. We’ll get them addressed for you! Or at least point you in the right direction:

“Here’s the number to my therapist…”

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

