Posted in Writing

Refocus: Writing Priorities

Sorry about being a “no-show” yesterday, everyone. I hope your Wednesday went smoothly without me. That’s actually what I want to talk about today.

Bear with me while I give you a little bit of back-story first. I’ve been writing freelance since June of this year for a great little online women’s magazine. It’s a ghost writing position (I have various pen names that I write under) but I still love it. I’ve learned a lot while working there.

In addition to that, I got a job at a local fabric and craft store last month. I had to get used to juggling the two (unfortunately, this blog suffered while I tried to restore the balance in my schedule).

Last week, I was offered another job at a health and wellness website and a life coaching site. My new boss is fantastic and she has been lining up new projects for me to do after this one ends (including the possibility of collaborating on a health and wellness eBook). Of course I jumped at this deal. I couldn’t say no to that.

After saying yes to nearly everything that came my way, I suddenly realized how tired and cranky I had become. I hardly had any more time for WFPS side projects and my sewing machine had a thin layer of dust keeping it warm in the den. That’s when I realized that I had to quit something.

And that’s where I found myself earlier this week. I had to give up something so I decided to quit the craft store. Since turning in my letter, I’ve developed a bad case of “graduation goggles“. I’ve also been trying to buy all of the supplies that I need before my employee discount goes away.

My point is, though, that in deciding to do this, I’ve actually placed writing as one of the top priorities in my life (behind Jake and my family and friends). I’m pushing forward toward my writing goals. Today  is my last day at the craft store. Tomorrow morning (even before I start work), I’m going to revamp my “goal board” in hopes of gaining a bit of focus.

So now I’m turning this the focus to you. How important is writing in your life? Is it just a hobby? Is it your profession (“AHOO! AHOO! AHOO!”)? Is it a side project? Where does it sit on your priority list? What are your long term and short term writing goals?

All right, it’s back to the word mines for me. Good luck, wordsmiths!

 

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

