Posted in Writing Resources

Wednesday Writer Resource: Coffee

coffee

NaNo approach-eth. With the upcoming global event (Am I being too dramatic?), I figured that I would talk about the only thing that may get us through it: coffee (and whiskey). I’ve only participated in NaNo for the last two years but I thoroughly enjoyed myself both times and spent a lot of time consuming this bittersweet concoction.

Here are my “coffee during NaNo” rules to share with you:

  1. I don’t care who you are, if you’re desperate enough to try instant coffee, then you are desperate enough to put on some pants and get some real coffee.
  2. That’s pretty much it.

Whenever we had write-ins in my region it involved a place that served caffeinated beverages. Local coffee shops are awesome because as long as we ordered something to drink and some food, we were welcome to stay as long as we needed. Now, I don’t need coffee to write but I prefer to have it by my side because it helps me focus.

I love the stuff but I am afraid of it becoming a crutch. As of right now I don’t need coffee to write (none of us should NEED coffee to write) but it is helpful.  Luckily, it’s not that hard to obtain the stuff so if it does become my crutch it won’t be like I can’t get any.

Anyway, I’ve researched the health benefits for my job and I’ve done things like watch this video. I’m happy to say that I don’t find coffee to be bad for you unless you’re drinking more than a pot a day. Then the downsides start to kick in. But, if you don’t like coffee and you know that you’ll need a pick-me-up during November try this link.

That’s all for today. I’ve got to get ready for work (the non-writey-kind). I’ll see you all tomorrow.

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

