Posted in Writing Resources

Writing Resource: “Nay-say-ers”

watch-164873_640

We talked about NaNoWriMo last week, remember? It’s an event held every November, where writers are supposed to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

I am excited to be a NaNoWriMo participant. I love participating in the event every year because it helps me buckle down and actually write. While my end result may not be “publication – worthy,” it is still a way for me to get something done.

It usually serves as a way for me to kick myself in the butt. It’s like a recharge for my writing battery. It helps me remember that even though I find writing fun, I need to work hard if I want to write professionally.

As it is at the moment, I write about 1000 words a day for work (give or take, depending on which contract and how many contracts I’m working on) but if I want to write fiction for a living, I need to be — at least — doubling that.

Not everyone feels as though NaNoWriMo is beneficial and I can respect that. Everyone has their own reasons for participating or not. Check out this article by Max Barry. He talks about how NaNo makes you write a bad novel (which is true). When you’re done regurgitating 50,000 words, it’s not going to be something that you can publish. But for most people it does serve as a first draft or a push in the general direction.

You should really read that article though. Mr. Barry also talks about fifteen, different ways that you can write a novel. It’s pretty interesting and all of it is true.

So NaNoWriMo isn’t for everyone. I can totally agree with that statement, but that’s not going to stop me from joining in for the camaraderie, extra boost in production, and the fun. I hope to see you there as well.

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

