Posted in Writing

3 Reasons Why You Should Start A Writing Bucket List

bucket

I’ve talked about goals before but I think that this takes it to a whole other level. If you don’t know what a bucket list is, it is a list of things that you want to do and/or accomplish before you “kick the bucket.” I have a general one that I look at every year on my birthday. It helps me keep my priorities in check. I’ve divided that one into six categories: explore, learn, love, express, give, and legacy. Each of those categories describes something that I hold dear to my heart.

Today’s writing tip is to create a writing bucket list.

1. It will help you learn about yourself as a writer (what you need to work on, what you are worried about, etc.)

2. It will help you define your goals as a writer.

3. It will help you learn and expand your knowledge of the craft.

So how do you go about making a writing bucket list? I suggest that you divide this list into categories as well: explore, learn, express, and legacy.  Take each category and fill it with activities and objectives that you want to achieve as you grow as a writer.  Let me show you mine as an example:

EXPLORE

1. Continue to explore the world around me to keep my writing fresh and interesting.

2. Explore different genres in fiction (including fantasy, satire, and horror).

3. Learn more about other cultures to make my characters more well-rounded and genuine.

LEARN

1. Keep a notebook filled with my personal common English usage errors (and how to do it “write” — HA!)

2. Learn how to use dialogue effectively

3. Read more (in the genres that I want to write in).

4. Read more (in the genres that I don’t normally read).

5. Always be learning about how to be better at writing

EXPRESS

1. Express my feelings through poetry (i.e. write poetry well)

2. Create a cult website (not a website about a cult but a website that has a cult following…again, nothing to do with Satan)

3. Design and create my own personal library

4. Be the weird, eccentric writer with the Dr. Who scarf, and be misunderstood by my contemporaries

5. Invent a word that makes it into a dictionary

LEGACY

1. Get a book published by a publishing house

2. Publish one of my own books (self-publishing)

3. Make writing my main source of income

4. Have one of my books/stories turned into a movie or TV series

5. Get a short story published.

My “writing bucket list” isn’t done or perfected yet and it will grow and change as I grow and change as a writer but this was my first draft. I have things that I want to check off already and I have things that I want to add.

Anyway, once you’ve developed your initial list, feel free to post it in the comments section below. Letting others know about your goals will help you be accountable to those goals.

Good luck everyone!

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

