Posted in Writing Resources

Wednesday Writing Resource: NaNoWriMo

typewriter
Image by: mpclemens

 

Good Morning Everyone! I dug out my fingerless gloves last night because it was so cold while I was working. Slipping them on and typing reminded me of the first time I participated in NaNoWriMo. Because of that…

Today’s writing resource is the NaNoWriMo Blog. I’m not sure how many of you participate in the annual event (let’s not forget Camp NaNo as well). If you don’t, I suggest that you (at least) check it out. It is a fun, free event held in November every month. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. The point of the event is to write 50,000 words (of a novel) during the month of November.

I started participating in the event a couple years ago. I ran across the website and was so intrigued (and sad because I hadn’t participated earlier) that I decided to try it out. Of course, by the time I found it, it was October and I had less than a couple weeks to plan out my first “novel.” I won during my first try (yay) and have tried different rebel projects since.

I’ve gained a lot of things because of NaNo. I owe my freelancing career to it. Most of my writing buddies originated from NaNoWriMo. We were either cabinmates, came from the same region, or we latched onto each other for support and guidance. It has also helped rekindle my love for writing.

Anyway, even if you don’t participate, the OLL (Office of Letters and Light — they run NaNo) blog is updated regularly by their staff. It is full of awesome writing advice and tips. Some of the information has to do with the various programs that they run but most of it is general writing information.

If you do participate in NaNo, don’t forget to check out the blog and website throughout the year. They are always working hard and updating their stuff.

All righty everyone! I’ll see you tomorrow with some more writing tips! If you have any suggestions or comments, feel free to jot it down in the comments section below or shoot us an e-mail at writersfps@gmail.com.

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

