Posted in Writing Prompts

Writing Prompt: Dialogue

megaphone-50092_640

Today’s prompt is a really a dialogue challenge. I picked this one up at the last writing convention that WFPS went to.

Write a dialogue in which each of the 2 characters has a secret. Don’t reveal the secret outright but make the reader intuit their secrets.

I would

love, Love, LOVE

to read what everyone comes up with for this prompt!

Post it down in the comments section below, link us back to it (if you post it on your blog), or e-mail us a copy to read (if you’re shy).

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

4 thoughts on “Writing Prompt: Dialogue

    1. That’s a great response! I love that you challenged yourself to go tag-less too. I’ve always had trouble with that because (especially with my first draft) my characters have a tendency of sounding the same. I’ve tried to go further into character sketches and that seems to have solved some of that problem.

      You did a great job with the dialects/vernacular. I could hear how they talk as I read it and it read smoothly. You didn’t take away too much or add to much. I remember when I first tried to add more of that in my dialogue I went crazy. Apostrophes everywhere! I murdered all of their words — hacked them all in half, haha. Luckily, I’ve learned since then. At least, I hope so. 😛

      Bravo!
      Joy

Leave a Reply

