Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Writing Down the Bones

Writing-Down-the-Bones

Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg…

…was the first book about writing that I ever purchased. It was recommended reading by my creative writing teacher in high school, Mr. Davis. I’ve loved the book since I read the first page back in… Well, let’s not get into that.

It is written in two to five page sections and is filled with activities, daily writing practices, ideas, and inspiration. I can honestly say that this book has made me fall back in love with writing countless times. Whenever I feel like my current project, my job, or whatever writing task I am doing is really too much, I crack open this book and read a few sections. It’s magical.

I could really relate to what Goldberg says about writing. In this book (as with all her other books and her workshops/classes) she turns writing into an art-form. The book blends her zen meditation and techniques with writing practice and what is born is an amalgam of love and creativity.

Like Mr. Davis said, all those years ago, this is a must-read. The Amazon listing is here. Go ahead, open it up. The Kindle edition runs at around $9 and a hardcopy runs at around $12. Trust me, you’ll get your money’s worth.

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

