Posted in Writing Challenges

Tuesday’s Writing Challenge: GOOOOAAAAAALLLLLLL!

Soccer_goalkeeper
Image by: Master Sgt. Lance Cheung

Today’s challenge is to write down your goals as a writer.

First, think big. Do you want to be a published novelist? Do you want to self-publish your trilogy? Do you want to write for Time Magazine? Do you want your own short story or poetry collection published by a big publisher?  Try to make it manageable and attainable.

Now work your way backwards. Start coming up with the smaller (short-term) goals that fit under that big umbrella of an endeavor. “In order to be a published author, I need to get my books published. In order to get my book published, I need to write and edit a book, then pitch it to different agents and publishing houses.”

Now under that, write down the daily goals that will get you to those short-term goals. “I have to write 1k words every day so I can finish the first draft of my book, etc.”

This may seem like a tedious project but it will help put things in perspective. It will also help you take yourself more seriously as a writer. And even more than that, it will help you be more productive. Sure, we can all say, “I’m going to write everyday” but sometimes we need to see it written down and sometimes we need to see a specific goal, “I will write for one hour every day” or “I will write 1000 words everyday.” You get the picture.

If you want to post one or more of your goals in the comments section below to help inspire other writers, that would be helpful and friendly. Introduce yourself and let us in on your big plan so we can all say “I knew him/her back when…”

Love, Joy

Author:

I'm Jocelyn DeVore - writer, reader, student for life, daughter, friend, artist, nerd, movie lover, avid coffee drinker, obsessive reader, and girl.

Leave a Reply

